Week 2 – December 19, 2011

Hi Everyone!
I hope all is well at home and in the outside world. This week has been pretty crazy. on tuesday my companion was sent home to clear some things up. It was really hard to see him go, we had been growing very close as a companionship and I was really growing to love him and rely on him as a companion. so, needless to say, it was a difficult day, I was reassigned to by with two other elders in my district as a trio companionship, but on thursday, one of those companions was also sent home, this time for medical reasons. I thought this second time would be easier, but not at all, I had been praying to learn to love all the members of my district as district leader and I definitely was blessed with a greater measure of understanding of Gods love and the potential he sees in all of us, so seeing him go has caused me to worry for him, he wants to come back as soon as he gets better, but I know it will not be easy. so now I am with a third companionship this week, we are doing very well, he has been sick though, so saturday we spent the entire day in the residence hall so he could get better, he is feeling well now, but still struggling. I think I am learning what it means to go through the refiners fire. despite all of this, I have seen the Lords hand in my life, my teachers, and branch presidency have helped me so much and I have been at peace throught the whole process. I do not know what work Heavenly Father has in store for me, but I have come closer to him in this past week than I ever have in my life. I have begun reading Jesus the Christ by James e. Talmage. There is so much truth contained in just the first few chapters of that work, and is given so simply, We are all children of our Heavenly Father, we knew him and fought for his cause in the life before this, we are here to pass through mortality and be tested, and if we endure it well, with an eye single to the Glory of our Father, because of the sacrifice of Jesus the Christ, we will be Heirs of the Kingdom of heaven. I feel my life before entering the mtc fading from my memory, this perspective has changed me forever, I feel that through this scripture and prayer that I have caught a glimpse into the plan our Father has for each of us. I love him, I love this work. I hope all of you will read from Jesus the Christ, it is amazing.
Christmas is close! I am excited! we will have several devotionals from a member of the quorum of the 12 apostles this week as well as music from the tabernacle choir. I hope that everything will be well at home for the holiday so we can remember the significance of the birth of our savior and redeemer.
I forgot to bring my letter you worte me mom, so I cant remember all the things you told me. but I hope you will send all of my love to everyone this week. I miss you all, how is everything going??? could you send me chads e-mail via dearelder.com? I want to hear from him.
anything happening with selling the house and stuff?
Thank you so much for the package this week! and could you thank grandma for the package she sent me. it really lifted my spirits.
Merry christmas!
Love
Elder Ryan Faulkner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

